In October 1994, twenty-five citizens were appointed by Governor McKernan to serve as the inaugural Commission members. Since then, each Governor has appointed an average of nine people each year to fill naturally occurring vacancies on the board.

Commissioner terms of service are three years with an option for re-appointment. The Commissioners are a diverse, bipartisan group of citizens, actively engaged in community service, and represent every region of the state. They elect officers from their membership and the officers serve two-year terms.

The seats on the board are designated in statute such that each person represents at least one facet of the community volunteer service sector.

Commissioners Serving Now

Luke Shorty

Luke Shorty, Chair
Executive Director of Strategic Initiatives, Thomas College
Seat 23: An educator; a representative of a local education agency

Photo of Pamela Proulx-Curry

Pamela Proulx-Curry, Chair-elect
Old Town
Executive Director, Maine MultiCultural Center
Seat 11: A representative of the State's volunteer community

William Guindon, Jr.

William Guindon, Jr., Vice-chair
Mass Care Coordinator, Maine Emergency Management Agency (MEMA)
Seat 18: A representative of public safety

jenifer tilton-floor

Jenifer Tilton-Flood, Immediate Past Chair
Dairy Farmer/Cabot Creamery Co-op Spokesperson
Seat 15: A representative of business

Photo of Edward Barrett

Edward Barrett 
City Administrator, City of Lewiston (retired)
Seat 17: Expert in the delivery of human services to communities and people 

Photo of Celeste Branham

F. Celeste Branham
V.P. for Student Services, University of Maine Farmington (retired)
Seat 20: Educators, including representatives from institutions of higher education and local education agencies

Philip Bosse

Philip Bosse
Retired, Aroostook County Representative for Senator Susan Collins
Seat 8: A representative of the State's volunteer community

Photo of Susan Cheesman

Susan Cheesman
Concord, NH
Senior Portfolio Manager, AmeriCorps Northeast Region Office
Seat 24: Ex officio -- a nonvoting liaison designated by the federal AmeriCorps office

Gary Dugal

Gary Dugal
President/Executive Director, Good Will-Hinkley
Seat 12: An expert in the delivery of human services in communities

Julia Fiori

Julia Fiori
Student, Bowdoin College
Seat 6: An individual age 16 to 25 who is a participant in a service program for youth

Chelsey Fortin-Trimble

Chelsey Fortin-Trimble

Associate Commissioner of Policy & Programs, Maine Department of Education
Seat 2: The Commissioner of Education or his/her designee

volunteer Maine logo

Jacinda Goodwin
Program Specialist, SERVE Center, North Carolina
Seat 16: An expert in services to out-of-school or youth at-risk

Photo of Stacie Haines

Stacie Haines
Development Director, Maine Conservation Voters
Seat 9: Expert in the delivery of environmental services to communities and persons


Susan Asselin Hawthorne
Volunteer and Internship Director, Sweetser
Seat 10: An individual with expertise in the education, training and development needs of youth, particularly disadvantaged youth

Becky Hayes Boober

Becky Hayes Boober
Tobacco Prevention Specialist, Knox County Community Health Coalition, Penbay YMCA
Seat 13: A representative of a community-based agency or organization

Diane Lebson

Diane Lebson
CEO and Co-Founder, Evergreen Philanthropic Solutions
Seat 22: A representative of the State's volunteer community

Zachary Maher

Zachary Maher
Deputy Director of Business & Community Development, City of Auburn
Seat 19: A representative of local government

Janet May

Janet May
Coordinator of Transition and Adults, Center for Community Inclusion and Disability Studies, UMaine
Seat 25: A representative of a community-based agency or organization

Photo of Robert Meinders

Robert Meinders
Aroostook Agency on Aging Board, RSVP Advisory Committee
Seat 7: A representative of a national service program

Photo of Thomas Meuser, Ph.D.

Thomas Meuser, Ph.D.
Professor, School of Social Work, Westbrook College of Health Professions, University of New England
Seat 3: An individual with experience in promoting the involvement of adults aged 55 and older in National Service and volunteerism

Jeff McCabe

Jeff McCabe
Seat 4: Representative of a local labor organization

Nate Rudy

Nathaniel Rudy
Town Manager, Gray
Seat 21: A representative of local government

Julia VanSteenberghe

Julia Van Steenberghe
Old Town
Recruitment & Engagement Specialist, Graduate School of Business, UMaine
Seat 5: An individual age 16 to 25 who is a participant in a service program for youth

Volunteer Maine logo

Susan Wiggin
Social Worker, Portland Adult Education
Seat 14: An expert in the delivery of human services to communities and persons

Vacant Seats

Seat 1: A representative of business