

## State of Maine 131st Legislature, First Regular and First Special Sessions

## Blue Ribbon Commission to Study Emergency Medical Services in the State

January 2024

Office of Policy and Legal Analysis



## STATE OF MAINE 131<sup>st</sup> LEGISLATURE FIRST REGULAR AND FIRST SPECIAL SESSIONS

## Blue Ribbon Commission to Study Emergency Medical Services in the State

Members: Sen. Chip Curry, Chair

Speaker Rachel Talbot Ross, Chair

Sen. Brad Farrin Rep. Mark Blier

Rep. Scott Cyrway Rep. Suzanne Salisbury

**Robert Chase** 

**Beth-Anne Damon** 

Scott Dow Mike Hildreth

Kevin Howell Joe Kellner

Carrie Kipfer Bill Montejo

Rick Petrie Anthony Roberts

Mike Senecal

Staff:

Daniel Tartakoff, Principal Analyst Joseph Greene, Legislative Analyst Sophia Paddon, Legislative Analyst Office of Policy & Legal Analysis 13 State House Station Room 215 Cross Office Building Augusta, ME 04333-0013 (207) 287-1670 http://legislature.maine.gov/opla Recommendation C-4: Maine EMS should collaborate with Volunteer Maine to evaluate opportunities for funding or otherwise facilitating volunteer management and leadership training for volunteer EMS providers and to support recruitment of volunteer EMS providers in Maine.<sup>52</sup>

As recognized by commission members, volunteer EMS providers and volunteer EMS entities provide a critical means of accessing EMS in many different communities throughout the State, particularly in many rural and hard-to-access areas. The barriers to entry, however, into the volunteer EMS field are in some ways more significant than for paid EMS and the recruitment, retention and training of volunteer EMS providers, especially those in leadership or management positions, present additional, substantial challenges.

To better address these issues and needs, commission members recommend that Maine EMS collaborate with Volunteer Maine to evaluate opportunities for funding or otherwise facilitating volunteer management and leadership training for volunteer EMS providers and to support recruitment of volunteer EMS providers in Maine.

Volunteer Maine, established in statute as the Maine Commission for Community Service, <sup>53</sup> describes its mission as building capacity and sustainability in Maine's volunteer and service communities by funding programs, developing managers of volunteers, raising awareness of sector issues and promoting service as a strategy. <sup>54</sup> Commission members believe Volunteer Maine is uniquely positioned to help identify and acquire available funding and resources and to assist in the implementation of strategies for leadership and management training and recruitment of volunteer EMS providers in Maine.

Recommendation C-5: The Legislature should support community collaboration in the development and implementation of tiered-response systems utilizing paramedic intercept programs.<sup>55</sup>

As identified by commission members in discussion, one particular issue faced by EMS entities is the costs and challenges associated with staffing and maintaining a paramedic level EMS. Although there exists a very real demand across the EMS system for paramedical services, many EMS calls require a lower response level. Committee members discussed opportunities for community collaboration in addressing this issue, specifically the development of tiered-response systems utilizing paramedic intercept programs within a group of municipalities or

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>52</sup> Fifteen commission members voted in support of Recommendation C-4 (Senator Curry, Speaker Talbot Ross, Senator Farrin, Representative Blier, Representative Cyrway, Representative Salisbury and commission members Chase, Damon, Dow, Howell, Kellner, Kipfer, Montejo, Petrie and Senecal), one commission member abstained (Roberts) and one commission member was absent (Hildreth).

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>53</sup> See Title 5, Chapter 373.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>54</sup> See https://volunteermaine.gov/commission.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>55</sup> Fourteen commission members voted in support of Recommendation C-5 (Senator Curry, Speaker Talbot Ross, Senator Farrin, Representative Blier, Representative Cyrway, Representative Salisbury and commission members Chase, Damon, Dow, Howell, Kellner, Kipfer, Petrie and Senecal), two commission members abstained (Montejo, Roberts) and one commission member was absent (Hildreth).